Continuous  and Comprehensive  Evaluation  (CCE)  refers  to  a  system  of  school-based  evaluation  of students  that covers all aspects of  students development.

It is a developmental process of assessment which emphasizes on two fold objectives. These objectives are continuity in evaluation and assessment of broad based learning and behaviourial outcomes on the other. In  this scheme  the  term  `continuous’  is meant  to emphasise  that evaluation of  identified aspects of students `growth and development’  is a continuous process rather  than an event, built  into  the  total  teaching-learning process and spread over  the entire span of academic session.  It means regularity of assessment, frequency of unit testing, diagnosis of learning gaps, use of corrective measures, retesting and feedback of evidence to teachers and students for their self evaluation.


The  second  term  `comprehensive’ means  that  the  scheme  attempts  to  cover both  the  scholastic  and  the  co-scholastic aspects of students’ growth and development. Since abilities, attitudes and aptitudes can manifest themselves in forms other then the written word, the term refers to application of variety of tools and techniques (both  testing and non-testing) and aims at assessing a  learner’s development  in different areas of  learning.

The CCE assessment includes both scholastic and co-scholastic assessment. The desirable behaviour related to the learner’s knowledge, understanding, application, evaluation, analysis, and creating in subjects and the ability to apply it in an unfamiliar situation are some of the objectives in scholastic domain. The desirable behaviour related to learner’s Life Skills, attitudes, interests, values, co-curricular activities and physical health are described as skills to be acquired in co-scholastic domain.




CCE needs to carried out in two different domains


They are Scholasticand Co-scholastic


Both Scholastic and co-scholastic domains should be assessed in two ways, formative assessment and summative assessment.






·         It consists of 20 marks written exam.

·         Except FA-1 , all the other FA’s have a 50% marking share of activities carried out in the class such as Quizzes , Crosswords ,  Debate etc

·         The sum of these FA’s share 40% of the total Grade of the academic year.

·         There are 4 FA’s in an academic session.




·         It is term end exam which consist of a 80 or 90 mark written exam.

·         There is no share of activities in these Exams.

·         The SA’s  have a of 60% in the total Grade of academic session




·         Co-curricular activities

·         Creative and Literary activities

·         Aesthetic activities

·         Clubs and scientific activities

·         Emotional skills

·         Social skills

·         Life skills

·         Thinking skills



Scholastic Domain also consists of academic performance on basis of Work Experience, Physical education and Art Education.


·         This assessment will be entered once in a year on the basis of the descriptors

·         Grading for this part on a 5 point scale:  A+  A  B+ B and C





You are aware that as a part of ongoing examination reforms, the Board

would be conducting Proficiency Test in all the 05 main subjects for Class X in

the year 2012. For conducting the Proficiency Test for the students of CBSE

affiliated schools, 678 centres have been fixed throughout the country and

abroad. Your school has been fixed as one of the centres for the conduct of

Proficiency Test.


Following are the important information for the conduct of Proficiency Test:

a) Question Paper in every subject will carry 100 marks.

b) It will be a PaperPen Test. All questions will be of Multiple Choice type.

A student will be required to mark the answers in a given OMR sheet

with blue/black ball point pen only

c) The test in every subject will be based on classes IX‐X CBSE syllabus.

d) Negative marks will be awarded for wrong answers in different subjects

as per the general guidelines and sample questions for proficiency test

available on CBSE website. More than one answer indicated against a

question will also be deemed as incorrect response and will be

negatively mark 



(1) Mathematics



(4) Social Science .

(5) English



CBSE Students Global Aptitude Index (SGAI)



 As you may be aware CBSE has deigned students aptitude assessment tool specially for class X students studying in CBSE affiliated schools across the world. It was an optional activity.




CBSE SGAI is a collection of aptitude indices designed for students of class X in CBSE affiliated schools to broadly assess: -

²  Scientific Aptitude

²  Numerical Aptitude

²  Social Aptitude

²  Behavioral Science Aptitude

²  Art Aptitude

²  Interest Profile


A student appears for a simple paper and pencil indicator having multiple choice items. The total duration of the CBSE SGAI in about  2-2.5 hours.



Purpose of CBSE students global aptitude index (SGAI)


The CBSE SGAI is meant for students of secondary classes. This coincides with the span of adolescence and beginning of career concepts and planning ( although not in the concrete form.)



Although a variety of aptitude screening tests are already in vogue to help the

student identify personal interests and vocations

1.         CBSE SGAI is a collection of aptitude indices alongwith a facilitator manual for generating interest areas amongst students for requisite career planning.

2.         It has been customized to suit the Indian context and variety of student population in CBSE affiliated Private, Government and Aided Schools.

3.         Unlike the conventional Aptitude Tests, which indicate professional orientations the CBSE SGAI will indicate subject orientations at +2 level.

4.         SGAI is aimed to empower a child with “self knowledge” in terms of the Aptitude and Interest, to enable the child in making informed subjects choices.

5.         CBSE SGAI will further help in :

a) Optimizing the child potential and enhance satisfaction in future

b) Increasing motivation

c) Reducing wastage of human and financial resource.

d) Facilitate the career exploration process of students.





CBSE- SGAI is an optional assessment that can be taken by any class X students to know preference for subjects on the basis of assessment. However, CBSE SGAI should be taken only as an indicator or a facilitator. The test will help the larger population including parents, teachers and students to initiate an ongoing dialogue on subject choices and climate building through workshops/discussion that lead to effective career planning in life. It will help students and parents in making informed subject choices in class XI. Mental preparedness and sincere responses are the pre- requisites for this test. SGAI scores may depend upon child’s environmental stimulus and motivation level.



Important Information about CBSE SGAI IInd Edition

1.      Date of CBSE SGAI – 22nd January 2012.

2.      Last date for on-line registration – 25 September 2011

3.      Last date for submission of fee via DD – 10th October 2011