public/images/news/109WhatsApp Image 2023-11-08 at 8.27.38 AM.jpeg

24th V.V. John Memorial Inter-School Debate.  2023

  • Mon,06 Nov 2023

24th V.V. John Memorial Inter-School Debate.  2023

The 24th V.V. John Memorial Debate was held on 4th November 2023 as an annual tribute to the memory of professor V.V. John. Professor V.V. John was an extraordinary human being, remarkable teacher, efficient administrator, book lover, editor and journalist. His flair for oratory made him enormously popular.
The event was presided over by Ms. Anuradha Vyas and Ms. Ira Sisodiya.
Ms. Anuradha Vyas has the distinction of being the first topper in M.A. English with a gold medal in the history of J.N.V. University, Jodhpur. 
Ms. Ira Sisodiya is a management graduate with a master’s degree in law. She has a fascination for art, culture and heritage. She designed and curated created 'Kitabo' the Blue City Children's Literature Festival. 
The proposition for the debate was –
" Both are indispensable to human civilizations, but love of art is finer than love of science “

32 speakers representing 16 schools participated in the event.
The participants were judged on the basis of manner, matter and rebuttal and the time limit for each speech was 4 minutes.
All the participants were logical and clear in their arguments.
The speeches were followed by  a short melodious performance by the St. Anne's choir,. The melody rendered by Kavya Lakhotia, Purva Renaja and Palak Prajapat  to guitar tunes played by Mann Sharma mesmerized  the audience.

In their address the judges shared their insights with the audience and encouraged the participants with their words.
The Principal, Dr. John Abraham, proposed the vote of thanks. 

The winners of the debate  are as follows :- 
1st position :     
          Tanmay Singh Charan     (Central Academy Cantl.)

2nd position :
                Nitisha Bhandari  (Sardar Doon Public School)

3rd position :
            Jhanak Sharma (Lucky International School)

1st consolation prize : 
                   Kartik Khichi           (Lucky Bal Niketan)

2nd  consolation Prize : 
                    Mehai Chouhan (Sardar Doon Public School)

News Report By: Ms. Ritu Soni